Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee 801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220



United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington DC 20220 Minutes of CCAC Videoconference Public Meeting Wednesday March 24, 2021 (DAY 2) (10:00 am–1:26 pm)

I. Attendance

- CCAC Members in Attendance (videoconference or telephonic): a.
 - Mary Lannin (Chair)
 - Arthur Bernstein
 - Lawrence Brown
 - Sam Gill
 - Dean Kotlowski
 - Michael Moran (joined later)
 - Robin Salmon
 - Donald Scarinci
 - Dennis Tucker
 - Thomas Uram
 - Peter Van Alfen
- b. Mint Staff in Attendance (videoconference or telephonic):
 - Betty Birdsong, Deputy Director of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs
 - Pam Borer, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Russell Evans, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Boneza Hanchock, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Ron Harrigal, Manager, Design and Engraving
 - Joe Menna, Chief Engraver
 - April Stafford, Chief, Office of Design Management
 - Megan Sullivan, Senior Design Specialist, Office of Design Management
 - Roger Vazquez, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Jennifer Warren, Director of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs; and Mint Liaison to the CCAC
 - Greg Weinman, Senior Legal Counsel; and Counsel to the CCAC
 - Sheila Barnett, Attorney Advisor assigned to 2022 American Innovation \$1 Program
- Members of the Media in Attendance (telephonic): c.
 - Brandon Hall, Coin Update and Mint News Blog
 - Maggie Judkins, Numismatic News
 - Mike Unser, Coin News Media Group
- Others in Attendance: d.
 - Matt Sheaff, Chief Marketing Officer, State of Rhode Island
 - John Michael Zanin, Governor's Constituent Office, State of Vermont

- Coulter Minix, Director, Washington DC Office of Governor Andy Beshear, Commonwealth of Kentucky
- Don R. Johnson, Director of Constituent Services & Community Relations, State of Tennessee
- Natalie Schmitting, Notary Public (transcribing reporter)

II. Minutes

- 1. The public meeting was called back to order by Chair Mary Lannin at 10:00 am. Roll was called with 10 members in attendance; media attendance was recognized; and the attendance of Mint staff and officers was recognized.
- 2. The Mint presented the candidate reverse designs for the 2022 American Innovation \$1 Coin for Rhode Island.
 - April Stafford described the reverses under consideration for the Committee.
 - Ron Harrigal and Joseph Menna were asked if any technical considerations were warranted and assured the Committee all designs were able to be produced.
 - The theme chosen by Office of the Governor of Rhode Island was the sailing innovations of Nathanael Herreshoff, who was an American naval architect, mechanical engineer and yacht design innovator.
- 3. Recommendations were based on a possible perfect score of 30. The Committee discussed the reverses and scored the designs:

```
RI-01 21 (recommended design)
RI-02 8
RI-03 6
RI-04 5
RI-05 10
RI-07 10
RI-08 6
RI-09 2
RI-10 5
```

- 4. A motion was made by Tom Uram, seconded by Peter van Alfen, that "Rhode Island" be added to the reverse in a curve and a different font at the discretion of the Mint. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. The Mint presented the candidate reverse designs for the 2022 American Innovation \$1 Coin for Vermont.
 - April Stafford described the reverses under consideration for the Committee.
 - Ron Harrigal and Joseph Menna were asked if any technical considerations were warranted and assured the Committee all designs were able to be produced.
 - The Governor's Office offered the single design concept of snowboarding, noting that diversity is paramount, and many of Vermont's best known snowboarders are women.
- 6. Recommendations were based on a possible perfect score of 33. The Committee discussed the reverses and scored the designs:

```
VT-01
        5
VT-02
VT-03
        3
VT-04
VT-05
        29 (recommended design)
VT-07
VT-08
        3
VT-09
        4
VT-10
        4
VT-11
        18
```

- 7. The Mint presented the candidate reverse designs for the 2022 American Innovation \$1 Coin for Kentucky.
 - April Stafford described the reverses under consideration for the Committee.
 - Ron Harrigal and Joseph Menna were asked if any technical considerations were warranted and assured the Committee all designs were able to be produced.
 - The Governor's Office noted a strong preference for the theme of Bluegrass Music over the theme of the Frontier Nursing Service.
- 8. Recommendations were based on a possible perfect score of 33. The Committee discussed the reverses and scored the designs:

```
KY-01
        26 (recommended design)
KY-02
KY-03
        7
KY-03A 19
KY-04
KY-05
        11
KY-06
        2
KY-07
        6
KY-07A 2
KY-08
        6
KY-09
        2
KY-10
        4
KY-11
        2
KY-12
        8
KY-12A 6
KY-13
KY-17
        4
KY-18
         3
KY-19
        14
KY-20
        2
        7
KY-21
KY-22
        7
KY-23
        10
KY-24
        6
KY-25
        12
```

9. The Mint presented the candidate reverse designs for the 2022 American Innovation \$1 Coin for Tennessee.

- April Stafford described the reverses under consideration for the Committee.
- Ron Harrigal and Joseph Menna were asked if any technical considerations were warranted and assured the Committee all designs were able to be produced.
- The Governor's office noted that of the three themes, the Nashville Numbering System, the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), and the Cherokee Syllabary, a preference would be for the impact on rural electrification for farming brought by the TVA.
- 10. Recommendations were based on a possible perfect score of 33. The Committee discussed the reverses and scored the designs:

```
TN-01
       2
       7
TN-02
TN-03
        3
TN-04
        4
TN-05
        3
TN-06
        2
TN-07
        23 (recommended design)
TN-08
        17
TN-09
        4
TN-10
        5
TN-11
        12
TN-12
        5
TN-13
        6
TN-14
        6
TN-15
        2
TN-16
        5
TN-17
        8
TN-18
        5
TN-19
```

11. A motion was made by Dean Kotlowski, seconded by Peter van Alfen, to adjourn. The vote was unanimous and Chair Lannin adjourned the meeting at 1:26 pm